Lovin' los libros

A book blog dedicated to young adult and new adult novels

Review: Owning Violet by Monica Murphy {+Giveaway!}

By 8:39 AM , , , , ,

Owning Violet (The Fowler Sisters #1)
    by: Monica Murphy

Publication Date: Dec. 2, 2014
Publisher: Bantam
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Age Group: Adult
Source: e-ARC provided by the publicist in exchange for a fair and honest review.
Page Count: 400 pages
Order Links: Amazon | B&N
My Rating: 3.5/5 stars


New York Times bestselling author Monica Murphy begins a sexy new contemporary romance series—perfect for fans of Christina Lauren and Emma Chase—that introduces three sisters born to wealth, raised to succeed, ready to love, destined to make waves.

I’ve moved through life doing what’s expected of me. I’m the middle daughter, the dutiful daughter. The one who braved a vicious attack and survived. The one who devoted herself to her family’s business empire. The one who met an ambitious man and fell in love. We were going to run Fleur Cosmetics together, Zachary and I.

Until he got a promotion and left me in the dust. Maybe it’s for the best, between his disloyalty and his wandering eye. But another man was waiting for me. Wanting me. He too has an overwhelming thirst for success, just like Zachary—perhaps even more so. He’s also ruthless. And mysterious. I know nothing about Ryder McKay beyond that he makes me feel things I’ve never felt before.

One stolen moment, a kiss, a touch . . . and I’m hooked. Ryder’s like a powerful drug, and I’m an addict who doesn’t want to be cured. He tells me his intentions aren’t pure, and I believe him. For once, I don’t care. I’m willing to risk everything just to be with him. Including my heart. My soul.

My everything.

 
 
Being a huge Monica Murphy fan, I knew I needed to get my hands on her newest adult series that follows the three Fowler Sisters: Lily, Violet, and Rose! Monica always brings the steamy, sexy times and this book is no exception. In fact, it's one of her hottest yet, if you ask me! This book is also one of her more angst-filled books, especially with all the deception and who's playing who going on between the characters.
 
Having both Ryder and Violet's POV's definitely worked in this one. It was also difficult because seeing Ryder for who he really is in the beginning is not really very appealing. He is a manipulator and does things that best suit his gains and purposes. The marketing industry can be a very cutthroat world and we really see that in this book. There are a lot of players who only care for their own selfish gains and want to rise up to be in a place of power. Violet's boyfriend, Zachary is one of these. I couldn't stand the guy. He's an obvious skirt chaser and he doesn't even have the decency to hide it! Violet suspects he's cheated on her, but still she stays with him for propriety's sake. She is naïve enough to believe that once they are engaged and married, he will devote himself to her. Oh, Violet. She's such a sweet character, but could be a real pushover when it came to Zachary. Being the heir to her family's cosmetic company, she has made some serious enemies- ones who would do anything to take her out of the running, no matter the price.
 
It took quite a bit for me to warm up to Ryder. I knew he would eventually be the kind of guy I wanted him to be, but man. It took quite a bit for him to get to that point. His interest in Violet is purely selfish. He loathes her boyfriend Zachary and wants to see him ruined. Stealing Violet out from underneath him is a good start- however, Ryder also wouldn't mind seeing what Violet is really like. His mentor, sometimes lover, and overall psycho of a friend Pilar, thinks that Violet would be a stuck up prude- one that could never cater to Ryder's tastes. What starts as a game of seduction, easily turns into genuine attraction, need, and desire for Ryder. He wants Violet and wants to unleash the inner vixen he knows she's just dying to set free. Normally, I would hate characters like Ryder, who are just in the business of using women to get what they want. However, Murphy does a brilliant job in showing his inner struggle over what he's doing with Violet and we catch these glimpses of vulnerability that make us hope that he is not as big of a jerk as he comes across. He comes to admire Violet and her strength. She's not some weak kitten, like she was initially perceived. I think when Zachary reveals his true nature, she really reaches her breaking point and we see her start to show a little spine.
 
The chemistry between Violet and Ryder is seriously hot. He's determined to break this girl and he knows his darkness will send her running for the hills. He is quite surprised when he realizes Violet is a lot more resilient that he gave her credit for. Ryder comes from a dark past and doesn't know what it's like to have people care for him, like Violet does. Her sisters love her fiercely, as does her father, so it's easy to see why he is so afraid of feeling more for her, never having had anyone like that in his life.
 
I know this is a series, so I'm willing to bet Murphy will tie up the loose ends from this novel in either Rose or Lily's book. I felt the main storyline with Pilar should have been resolved a bit more than it was though. She is such a big player in the story, and her manipulation of Ryder was a key point in this one. After all the blackmailing, it all seemed a bit anti-climactic where she was concerned. I hate to admit that I want to see what will happen with her storyline and how it was she was able to just let go of Ryder and her quest for Violet's destruction so easily. The ending felt a bit rushed and I was surprised Violet was able to forgive Ryder so easily after everything he'd put her through. He said some pretty unforgiveable things and withheld a lot from her, when he should've been coming clean.
 
Overall, I did enjoy this one and I am looking forward to seeing where Murphy will take Rose and Lily's stories! (Monica has said Rose's love interest might be even hotter than Ryder!)
 

 
Giveaway Rules:

-Giveaway is US/CAN only.

- Winner must be 18 years old to enter.

-Winner will be chosen randomly through Rafflecopter and contacted via email.

-Winner will have 48 hours to respond or another winner will be chosen.

Giveaway will run November 26- December 4th.
 
a Rafflecopter giveaway

You Might Also Like

2 comments

  1. I was curious about this one, being that I haven't read Monica Murphy yet, I think I will start with a different series since this one had some ups and downs for you. I'm not sure how much I would be able to warm up to Ryder. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I haven't read any of Monica Murphy's books yet, but I 'd like to soon

    ReplyDelete

Leave me some comment love! And I will get around to commenting back!

My blog is an award-free blog, however, as I just do not have the time to follow-up.

Search This Blog

Powered by Blogger.