Lovin' los libros

A book blog dedicated to young adult and new adult novels

Review: Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

By 8:04 AM , , , , , ,

Uninvited (Uninvited #1)
   by: Sophie Jordan

Publication Date: Jan. 28, 2014
Publisher: HarperTeen
Genre: Science Fiction/ Dystopian
Age Group: Young Adult
Source: e-ARC provided by Edelweiss and the publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review.
Page Count: 384 pages
Order Links: Amazon | B&N
My Rating: 4/5 stars


The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan's chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she's destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

 
Sweet, pretty Davy Hamilton has it all- she's smart, incredibly gifted and talented, and the envy of all her female peers. She is dating the hottest guy in school and together they have big plans for their future. Until one fateful test changes the course of her life completely. Davy's life is thrown into chaos and everything she once knew- is no longer.
 
Wow. You guys. This book completely blew me away! I am a big fan of Sophie's, as she has shown her versatility in writing Young Adult and New Adult. I haven't read any of her Adult novels as of yet, but I have no doubt she rocks those too! I really enjoyed the premise of Uninvited, and I really enjoyed Davy as our protagonist. I don't often get overly emotional while reading books, but at one point I felt such despair for Davy that I found myself tearing up. Upon discovering she has tested positive for HTS, she is completely at a loss. She knows herself and she would never hurt anyone. Yet, there is such a negative stigma attached to the gene. People are afraid of her- her parents included. Her loving boyfriend who she thought would understand and stick by her no matter what ends up being a class A jerk and is more concerned with self-image and preserving his reputation than sticking by her side. Her best friend is not really a friend at all. As soon as she finds out, she goes behind Davy's back to talk about her with Zac, Davy's boyfriend. Tori, the girl who once followed Davy around, is now against her and doesn't want to include her or even be near her.
 
Seeing the alienation and disgust that Davy encounters from her peers is absolutely horrifying. She is forced to endure all of this on the possibility that she might do something to harm someone, despite the fact she has exhibited no violent tendencies previously.
 
Davy was such a likeable character. Even while her world is falling apart, she manages to keep her wits about her. She is strong, but in a very subtle way and I liked that. After being transferred to a new school where she is basically held in captivity with other carriers of HTS, she still manages to  do what she must in order to stay under the radar. I was absolutely shocked by the treatment of these HTS carriers. They are kids for pete's sake! Sure, some of them I would absolutely be wary of- but there are others who are more than they seem.
 
Sean O'Rourke is one of the HTS carriers that Davy happens upon at school. Sean gives off the bad boy vibe and is definitely a mystery. He constantly warns Davy not to depend on anyone but herself, but I think he is trying to protect himself from getting too close to her. As often as he warns her away, he is still there for her when she needs help. I liked that their relationship is very slow building and isn't forced. Considering Davy was in love with her ex-boyfriend, it wouldn't make sense to just have her jump in with Sean. Not that he would have let that happen anyway, as he is so guarded. Yet, she can't deny that he makes her feel safe, as well as recognizes that she isn't a killer. He believes in her and she really needed that from someone.
 
Due to the rising crime and uprisings from those with HTS, all carriers are transferred to detention camps for the safety of themselves and the rest of the world. Again- I was horrified at how these kids were treated. It is a very scary world Jordan has created and I cannot wait to find out how Davy's story will conclude in the sequel!
 
As soon as I opened this book, I was engaged. I liked seeing the normalcy of Davy's life at school and then seeing it all shatter and change kept me reading voraciously to find out what would happen to this poor girl. I really enjoyed this one and I am so glad I picked it up!

You Might Also Like

16 comments

  1. I agree with you, it horrified me how they treated these kids but at the same time I could totally see how they could come to the decisions they did, not that I agree with the decisions but I really like that you could totally see how everything came about. Davy was great and strong but like you said subtle too. I am dying to get my hands on the next book. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Teresa! I'm glad we both enjoyed this one!

      Delete
  2. Does it end with a cliff hanger? OMG loved your review I'm seriously considering picking this one up.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. No ma'am! It is cliffhanger free! :D And thanks girl! It's definitely a really intriguing read!

      Delete
  3. OOoh nice review!! Hearing all sorts of good things on this one that I am buying my copy this weekend! Along with other necessary releases!! Glad to hear that this one was just so amazing! Great review, again!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Jess! I hope you enjoy this one when you get to it! Man, this was the week of releases! Whew!

      Delete
  4. Great review. Thanks for sharing :)

    Have to add this one to my to read list.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Jennifer! I'm so glad I picked this one up!

      Delete
  5. Ahhhh, I just started this one today. Haven't read much of it but I am excited and fascinated by the killer gene aspect!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh I hope you like it!!! Definitely let me know!

      Delete
  6. Great review! I really have to get to this book! I have been reading so many good things about it! And the world, I really want to experience it! This one just sounds so unique! Loved your review!! :D

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Magen! It is definitely a great read!!!

      Delete
  7. YAY I'm glad you loved this. I am with you, I felt so many emotions while reading this. Great review, hon! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks lovely! I literally felt my heart splinter for Davy! :(

      Delete
  8. Great review! This book sounds SO good!! I can't wait to check it out.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes! Like I said- Sophie is amazingness. Did you ever read her Firelight series?

      Delete

Leave me some comment love! And I will get around to commenting back!

My blog is an award-free blog, however, as I just do not have the time to follow-up.

Search This Blog

Powered by Blogger.